Superior Court of California, County of Butte

Cases

Information FAQs Make Payments Search Cases / Hearings

Calendars

Display posted Calendars

eFiling

Information

Order for Judicial Assignments

Information

Tentative Rulings

Information Civil Probate

Traffic - Payment Information

Paying Online
Click here to make a payment or select payment alternatives for criminal and traffic cases. Click here for a How-To Guide to making an online payment.

Paying by Mail

You may handle most transactions through the mail. To pay your citation by mail, send a check or money order (U.S. dollars) made payable to Butte County Superior Court any time prior to your appearance date. Send payment to the court listed on your courtesy notice. Write the case number and the name of the person who received the citation on the check or money order to ensure it is applied to the correct case. Please be sure that we have your current mailing address so that we can respond to you in a timely manner, if necessary.

Requesting a Payment Plan or Fine Reduction

If you are unable to pay your citation in full by your appearance date you may request a bail installment (payment plan) by contacting the Traffic Division at 1775 Concord Avenue in Chico, or by phone at (530) 532-7005. Please note that on vehicle code violations a 10% down-payment of the total bail amount must be paid at the time the payment plan is established (per VC40510.5). In the event that a payment plan is established, an additional $35.00 fee will be assessed pursuant to PC1205(e).

If you were charged with an infraction and have already been convicted of the charge(s), you may contact the Court and/or submit a "Can't Afford to Pay Fine" form to request a reduction of the fine, additional time to pay, a payment plan, or community service.

Work Program
If you are financially unable to pay your bail/fine, you may be eligible to convert it to community service. In order to determine your eligibility you must contact the Court Compliance Division at (530) 532-7014. You must complete a financial declaration and, in most instances, provide proof of your income and expenses. If you qualify, the law requires that the Court collect a 10% down payment on the total bail for all vehicle code violations and a $35.00 administrative fee.

Contact the Court Privacy Statement

1 Court Street, Oroville CA 95965
© 2020 Superior Court of California, County of Butte. All rights reserved.